Little Indie blog

A little blog about indie stuff
  1. Credit: Max Grainger 

    Words: Sam Geary 

    Building up to the release of their debut album ‘For the first time‘, which arrives on February 5 via Ninja Tune, London-based Black Country New Road drop new single, ‘Track X’.

    The experimental alternative seven-piece layer angular, mellow sounds with a passionate vocal, plus a strings section, that adds nostalgia and emotion.

    Frontman Isaac Wood says 'Track X' is a song they first worked on in 2018 but never made it to their live set.

    “We decided to resurrect it during the recording of 'For the first time' and assemble it in the studio. The story is old but a good one and worth telling. We believe that people will enjoy singing along."

  2. Credit: Alexa Viscius 

    Chicago outfit Beach Bunny recently capped a breakout 2020 with their debut LP 'Honeymoon'. Now the quartet have released their new EP 'Blame Game' via Mom+Pop, along with a confrontational video for its title track directed by Matt Gehl. 

    Frontperson Lili Trifilio’s bold and confessional songwriting shines through on their latest release, which takes aim at toxic masculinity, sexism and the emotional labor of unreliable relationships.

    'Blame Game' was written in quarantine and recorded in Chicago over a week in August. The four new original songs are produced by Joe Reinhart (Hop Along, Joyce Manor, Modern Baseball, Remo Drive).

  3. Glasgow singer-songwriter Lizzie Reid precedes her forthcoming debut EP 'Cubicle' - out February 10 on Seven Four Seven Six - with a new single cut, ‘Been Thinking About You’. 

    “This is almost an appreciation song for a friend of mine,” she says. “He was such a support for me at a time I wasn’t feeling my best. I was going through quite a confusing time and felt guilty that I couldn’t support him in the same way he supported me.” 

    Listen below.

  4. Words: Izzy Butler

    Home Counties have not stood still since arriving early last year, making an impressive debut with EP ‘Redevelopment’ in September, and now kicking off 2021 with new single 'Modern Yuppies'.

    Premiered earlier this week by Matt Wilkinson on Apple Music 1, the self-produced track - we love that start! - sees the band move away from the indie guitar-laden sound of their debut EP, and instead embrace a more playful aptitude for synth-driven, post-funk hooks. It really is one that engages the ears and body. 

    “The song is a comparison between the young urban professionals of the 1980s to those of today," explains singer Will Harrison. "It discusses the differences, the way that arrogance and conservatism have made way for self-doubt and socially ‘liberal’ political positions. Ultimately however, they are both plagued by the same condition - of constantly needing more.”

    Read Little Indie's Q&A with the band from last year here.

  5. Credit: Sarah Louise Bennett

    Bella Latham, aka the fast-rising Baby Queen, has pitched up into January with her first new single of the year, the infectious 'Raw Thoughts'.

    "‘Raw Thoughts’ is probably the most important song I've released to date because it's actually the song that catalysed what has become the sound of Baby Queen," she explains if the hook-filled number. "I wrote it near the beginning of 2018 and it sort of came to me like a gift from heaven.

    "I had been on one of the biggest nights out of my entire life and had woken up dreadfully hungover. I think up until that very point in my life, I didn't know what partying was. I was incredibly innocent and naïve, and this was the moment everything changed for me. I had been going through a terrible breakup, and discovering partying was like discovering freedom. I was going to places my ex had never been, I was meeting people they would never meet and doing things that would make their skin crawl. I think I fell in love with the danger of it. I had realized that I could do or be whoever I wanted to be, even though the only thing I wanted was to be loved by them again.

    "The song came out like word vomit the next day. I was partly thrilled, partly coming down and partly ashamed of myself for what felt like a betrayal of innocence. ‘Raw Thoughts’ is an amalgamation of every feeling. It's euphoria bleeding into my deep sadness. It sounds like the moment everything changes, because without my knowing it at the time, it was. This song felt like the only way to start 2021."

    Check it out below.